The Five Billion Person Party

Notes of a wandering American soccer fan

When Life Imitates Dream Team: the Barton edition

Posted by steigs on May 21, 2008

It’s the summer, transfer season in the English Premiership.  Newcastle midfielder Joey Barton is looking at a relatively novel loan — six months in the penal league:

England international footballer Joey Barton was jailed for six months yesterday for a “violent and cowardly attack” outside a branch of McDonald’s after he became embroiled in a street fight at the end of a drunken night out in Liverpool.

The Premier League player, who signed for Newcastle in a £5.8m deal from Manchester City last summer, had drunk 10 pints of lager and five more bottles of lager before launching a sustained attack on a stranger and punching a 16-year-old boy in the face.

Now 15 (!) beers might be enough to make anyone stupid, if they’re able to be upright.  But Barton has a long history of thuggish behavior:

The incident took place as the player was awaiting trial for two other offences, which he denies; alleged assault and criminal damage of a taxi – for which he will appear before Liverpool magistrates on May 30 – and the alleged assault of a former Manchester City teammate, Ousmane Dabo, 31, to be heard in Manchester next month.

But wait, there’s more!  Courtesy of Wikipedia:

Although he signed a new contract on 22 September 2004, which would keep him at City until 2007, the club considered sacking Barton in December 2004 after an incident at their Christmas party. He stubbed out a lit cigar in youth player Jamie Tandy’s eye, after he had caught Tandy attempting to set fire to his shirt.  Barton subsequently apologised for his actions and was fined six weeks’ wages (£60,000).

The following summer, Barton was sent home from a pre-season tournament in Thailand after assaulting a 15-year-old Everton supporter who had provoked Barton by verbally abusing him and kicking his shin.Barton had to be restrained from attacking the boy further by teammate Richard Dunne.  Barton underwent anger management therapy at the order of City manager Stuart Pearce and paid £120,000 in club fines. 

While I find it puzzling that so many people appear to want provoke an obvious psycho — seriously, attempting to set his jersey on fire? — it seems there’s ample evidence that Barton is a bad, bad boy.  Just the kind who you’d expect to turn up at Harchester United.  Though I’d imagine that they’d upscale the details of his brawl.  A McDonald’s?  Really, Joey, the Arches?  Make that a high-end nightclub…and then have him score a crucial goal when he returns from jail.

16 Responses to “When Life Imitates Dream Team: the Barton edition”

  1. Eulalia said

    Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; we have developed some nice practices and we are looking to trade solutions with other folks, please shoot me an email if interested.

    Feel free to visit my web page – dentists in salem – http://www.salemdentalcenter.com/rate-dentist

  2. Ladonna said

    Quality articles is the key to be a focus for the visitors to visit the web page – Ladonna – http://www.4shared.com/office/2p6_WfQrce/Protecting_Your_Data_During_La.html ,, that’s what this web page is providing.

  3. Jude said

    Whats up very cool blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I’m glad to search out numerous useful info here within the publish, we need develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    Look into my web blog; webpage ( Jude – http://www.getjealous.com/spookyupshot9836/journal/3158795/haunted-dental-offices-and-dentist-ghost.html )

  4. Jamal said

    After I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service? Thank you!

    My webpage webpage ( Jamal – https://app.box.com/s/kdaeqx17c33aqjlx5uhe )

  5. Landon said

    Hi there colleagues, how is all, and what you want to say on the topic of this
    piece of writing, in my view its really amazing in favor of me.

  6. Liam said

    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

  7. Thurman said

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after going
    through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  8. Carlota said

    It’s going to be end of mine day, except before
    ending I am reading this fantastic piece of writing to improve my knowledge.

  9. Willie said

    An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment. I believe that
    you ought to publish more about this issue, it might not
    be a taboo matter but typically people do not talk about such
    topics. To the next! All the best!!

  10. Adan said

    Thanks for finally writing about >When Life Imitates Dream
    Team: the Barton edition The Five Billion Person Party <Liked it!

  11. With havin so much content and articles do you ever
    run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but
    it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any
    ways to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  12. Sterling said

    Hello to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this weblog; this weblog contains remarkable and really fine material
    for visitors.

  13. Justine said

    You are so awesome! I don’t believe I’ve truly read through
    a single thing like that before. So good to discover somebody with original thoughts on this subject.
    Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This site is something that is needed on the web, someone with some originality!

  14. Jacquelyn said

    It’s in fact very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television,
    thus I just use internet for that purpose, and take the most up-to-date news.

  15. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say
    I really enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?
    Thanks for your time!

  16. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our
    community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

 
